What are the drinking water standards?


The Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) sets standards that, when combined with protecting ground water and surface water, are critical to ensuring safe drinking water. EPA works with its regional offices, states, tribes and its many partners to protect public health through implementing the Safe Drinking Water Act.

Primary Drinking Water Standards

Primary standards are legally enforceable regulations that protect drinking water quality by limiting the levels of specific contaminants that can adversely affect public health and are known or anticipated to occur in water.

Secondary Drinking Water Standards

Secondary standards are a guideline regarding contaminants that may cause cosmetic effects or aesthetic effects, but are not known to pose health risks.

For a list of the Primary and Secondary Drinking Water Standards and the FKAA’s most recent results please see the Water Quality Reports.

Show All Answers

1. I moved into a new home and I am not sure about the building’s plumbing. Is there a way I can tell if the water quality at my faucet is as high-quality as the water provided by the FKAA to the meter?
2. Why is my water cloudy and what does it mean to have “air in the line”?
3. What makes ice cubes cloudy?
4. What are the drinking water standards?
5. How long can I store drinking water?
6. How often is my water tested?
7. Is it safe to drink from my garden hose?
8. What is the difference between precautionary and mandatory boil water notices?